Request to be called back

Need help to book your stay ?
Contact us at +33 4 50 91 48 59 or request to be called back :

The nature of your request:

Your Personal Details :

When would you like to be called back:

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Megeve City Guide

The Megève Style

One of the most important figures in the history of Megève, Henry Jacques Le Même gave his architectural soul to the resort and, even more so, influenced its way of life...

Henry Jacques Le Même, inventor of the Megève style

It is a certainty, the landscape of Megève would not be the same if Henry Jacques Le Même had not decided to settle there in 1925. Because its singular and so well integrated architecture founded the identity of this resort launched by the Rothschild family in the early 1920s. Born in 1897, a graduate of the Beaux-Arts in his native Nantes, then of Paris, where he won first prize in the prestigious Rougevin competition in 1923, the student architect then joined the studio of one of the masters of the Art Deco style, Jacques-Émile Ruhlmann. There he learnt how to carry out a project from start to finish, from architecture to interior decoration, from space planning to furniture design with remarkable craftsmanship. Skills that he will apply to each of his building sites. But in poor health, the future builder was forced to take a cure in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains. Adolphe Beder, an industrialist and director of the Société Française des Hôtels de Montagne (SFHM), for whom he had just designed the decorations for a casino in the Nièvre, advised him to go to a small village that Baroness Noémie de Rothschild had just decreed the ideal winter sports resort: Megève. The latter asked the young man to look at the plans for his private chalet, with the old farms of the country as a paradigm. Henry Jacques Le Même thus left Paris for Haute-Savoie for good.

Draw Megève

Of the agricultural buildings in the region, Henry Jacques Le Même only keeps the shape and volume. Inside, the spaces, rational and practical, integrate comfort and elegance worthy of a private mansion. An architectural vision which will be like the sketch of what will be part of his fame: the famous "Chalets du Skieur", later declined to more than 200 projects. Constructions recognizable by their double-pitched roof, base in local stone covered with light-coloured plaster, wooden cladding for the first floor, shutters with graphic and colourful lines, large picture windows and corner windows... A typology that has since been widely copied. The subject of his diploma, obtained in 1929, is the remarkable chalet built for Princess Angèle de Bourbon. He then set up his practice in an avant-garde villa-studio, a family home as much as a place of work. A red cube, a model of manifest architecture, designed under the influence of Le Corbusier but also of André Lurçat, Jean-Charles Moreux and which joins, in its preoccupations of opening on the outside, the villa E-1027 of Eileen Gray and Jean Badovici in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin. The success is overwhelming. The workshop is always full of well-informed customers who choose Megève as a holiday resort. At the same time, he collaborates with his friend the architect Pol Abraham, in the elaboration of the great sanatoriums of the Assy plateau in Passy. He signed the creation of the Edelweiss (1928 and 1945), Albert 1er (1930), du Mont-Blanc (1934), Royal (1934 and 1945) hotels... but also of shops, including the sports hotels of Brette and Reussner (1929) and Emile Allais (1946-1949)...

A post-war reconstruction architect who enjoyed a remarkable national career while assuming numerous official and expert functions in the profession, Henry Jacques Le Même forever marked the megèvean panorama of his incredible production, in the momentum of the dynamism of the station. While remaining faithful to his convictions, particularly that everything must be "thought out and drawn" in exact proportion, to serve what he liked to call the "science of landscape".

Request to be called back

Need help to book your stay ?
Contact us at +33 4 50 91 48 59 or request to be called back :

The nature of your request :

Your Personal Details :

When would you like to be called back :

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Megève City Guide

Le Style Megève

Comptant parmi les figures marquantes de l’histoire de Megève, Henry Jacques Le Même a donné toute son âme architecturale à la station et, plus encore, influencé son art de vivre…

Henry Jacques Le Même, inventeur du style Megève

C’est une certitude, le paysage de Megève ne serait pas le même si Henry Jacques Le Même n’avait décidé de s’y installer en 1925. Car son architecture singulière et si bien intégrée a fondé l’identité de cette station lancée par la famille Rothschild au début des années 1920. Né en 1897, diplômé des Beaux-Arts de Nantes, sa ville natale, puis de Paris où il remporte en 1923 le premier prix du prestigieux concours Rougevin, l’élève architecte rejoint ensuite l’atelier de l’un des maîtres du style Art déco, Jacques-Émile Ruhlmann. Il y apprend alors à mener de bout en bout un projet, de l’architecture à la décoration intérieure, de l’agencement d’espace à la conception de meubles à la qualité artisanale d’exécution remarquable. Des savoir-faire qu’il appliquera à chacun de ses chantiers. Mais de santé fragile, le futur bâtisseur est amené à partir en cure à Saint-Gervais-les-Bains. L’industriel mais aussi administrateur de la Société Française des Hôtels de Montagne (SFHM), Adolphe Beder, pour qui il vient de réaliser les décors d’un casino dans la Nièvre, lui conseille alors de se rendre dans un petit village que la baronne Noémie de Rothschild vient de décréter comme la station de sports d’hiver idéale : Megève. Cette dernière demande d’ailleurs au jeune homme de se pencher sur les plans de son chalet privé avec, pour paradigme, les vieilles fermes du pays. Henry Jacques Le Même quitte ainsi définitivement Paris pour la Haute-Savoie.

Dessiner Megève

Des bâtisses agricoles de la région, Henry Jacques Le Même ne garde que la forme et le volume. A l’intérieur, les espaces, rationnels et pratiques, intègrent un confort et une élégance dignes d’un hôtel particulier. Une vision architecturale qui sera comme l’esquisse de ce qui fera une partie de sa renommée : les célèbres « Chalets du Skieur », déclinés par la suite à plus de 200 projets. Des constructions reconnaissables à leur toiture à double pente, soubassement en pierre du pays recouvert d’enduit clair, bardage en bois pour l’étage, volets aux lignes graphiques et colorées, larges baies vitrées et fenêtres d’angle… Une typologie largement copiée depuis. Le sujet de son diplôme, obtenu en 1929, est d’ailleurs le remarquable chalet construit pour la princesse Angèle de Bourbon. Il installe alors son cabinet dans une villa-atelier avant-gardiste, maison familiale autant que lieu de travail. Un cube rouge, modèle d’architecture manifeste, conçu sous l’influence de Le Corbusier mais aussi d’André Lurçat, Jean-Charles Moreux et qui rejoint, dans ses préoccupations d’ouverture sur l’extérieur, la villa E-1027 d’Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici à Roquebrune-Cap-Martin. Le succès est foudroyant. L’atelier ne désemplit pas d’une clientèle avertie qui élit Megève pour villégiature. A la même époque, il collabore, avec son ami l’architecte Pol Abraham, à l’élaboration des grands sanatoriums du plateau d’Assy à Passy. Il signe la création des hôtels Edelweiss (1928 et 1945), Albert 1er (1930), du Mont-Blanc (1934), Royal (1934 et 1945)… mais aussi de boutiques dont celles de sport de Brette et Reussner (1929) ou d’Emile Allais (1946-1949)…

Architecte de la reconstruction d’après-guerre qui connaît une carrière nationale remarquable tout en assumant de nombreuses fonctions officielles et d’expert de la profession, Henry Jacques Le Même a marqué à jamais le panorama megévan de son incroyable production, dans l’élan du dynamisme de la station. Tout en restant fidèle à ses convictions et notamment celle que tout doit être « pensé et dessiné » dans l’exactitude des proportions, pour servir ce qu’il aimait nommer la « science du paysage ».